Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman & Howe

(2CD, 2014/ 1989, 59:25/ 30:07, Esoteric Recordings ECLEC22465)

The tracks:
CD 1:
  1- Themes(5:58)
  2- Fist Of Fire(3:32)
  3- Brother Of Mine(10:22)
  4- Birthright(6:05)
  5- The Meeting(4:23)
  6- Quartet(9:24)
  7- Teakbois(7:42)
  8- Order Of The Universe(9:02)
  9- Let's Pretend(2:58)
CD 2:
  1- Order Of The Universe (long edit)(6:03)
  2- Brother Of Mine (long edit)(6:34)
  3- Vultures In The City(5:54)
  4- Quartet (CD single edit)(3:19)
  5- Order Of The Universe (short edit)(4:52)
  6- Brother Of Mine (single edit)(3:25)

Website      Esoteric Recordings

Being a Yes adept since their eponymous debut album in 1969, I obviously bought and cherished all the albums of the Yes side projects as well. In 1989 singer Jon Anderson, drummer Bill Bruford, keyboardist Rick Wakeman and guitarist Steve Howe recorded the album ABWH and it was a global success. I liked it a lot but I sadly missed the distinctive bass lines of Chris Squire, although songs like Brother Of Mine, Quartet and Order Of The Universe still have a place in my heart. This expanded and remastered version of ABWH includes an additional CD featuring rare mixes and tracks issued on the various singles and 12-inch EPs that were released to promote the album. The original album artwork has been restored and the booklet contains a new essay. I still like the album, but I wonder if the additional second CD will persuade people to buy it since it's only meant for diehard Yes fans like yours truly. In my opinion the best tracks on ABWH are Brother Of Mine, Quartet, Themes and Order Of The Universe. These tracks prevent the crystal clear voice of Jon Anderson of falling in oblivion. For me this is a must have album.

***+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?