Voyager - The Meaning Of I

(CD 2011, 52:12, Sensory)

The tracks:
  1- Momentary Relapse Of Pain(4:01)
  2- Stare Into The Night(4:18)
  3- Seize The Day(4:48)
  4- Broken(4:45)
  5- The Pensive Disarray(5:57)
  6- He Will Remain(2:45)
  7- The Meaning Of I(4:19)
  8- Iron Dream(4:01)
  9- Feuer Meiner Zeit(0:36)
10- Fire Of The Times(4:49)
11- She Takes Me(4:07)
12- It's Time To Know(2:17)
13- Are You Shaded?(5:29)

Voyager Website        samples       

In 2005, I wrote a very positive review of Voyager' s debut album Element V. However, I was rather disappointed with the follow-up albums UniVers (2007) and I Am The Revolution (2009). Now the fourth album of this Australian band has been released. The line-up has almost changed completely. Voyager now consists of Danny Estrin (vocals, keyboards, electronics), Scott Kay (guitars), Alex Cannon (bass guitar, vocals, growls), Mark Boeijen (drums) and Simone Dow (guitars). Luckily the voice of Estrin is still very recognizable and gives the music an extra dimension. You could describe Voyager's music as a blend of traditional, power, progressive and death metal resulting in a unique sound with catchy tunes. Take for example Stare Into The Night or Broken, two songs that will stick in your mind for a long time.

The album opens with the rather complex and dark Momentary Relapse Of Pain which is filled with riffs and hooks in the vein of Nevermore. As a listener it will draw your attention right away. The Pensive Disarray is a kind of power ballad with guest vocals of Dan Tompkins. DC Cooper (Royal Hunt) sings along in the beautiful Fire Of The Times which also features two great guitar solos. So, there's a lot that I enjoyed on this record, but I didn't like the grunting parts in the title track and in Are You Shaded and I think the piano ballad It's Time To Know is rather tiresome. However, the rest is great stuff and every time I listen to it, it gets better and better. Beware of not getting hooked on Voyager because the best band from down under did it again!

**** Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013