Paatos - V

(CD 2013, 38:01, Glassville Records)

The tracks:
  1- Feel(4:27)
  2- Desire(5:01)
  3- Cold War(5:35)
  4- Into the flames(4:46)
  5- Tea (revisited)(4:23)
  6- In Time (revisited)(4:22)
  7- Precious (remixed)(4:38)
  8- Your misery (remixed)(4:46)

Website        Glassville Records

I've never been a fan of the Swedish band Paatos. That's mainly due to the rather mediocre voice of Petronella Nettermalm. Their new mini-album V contains only four new songs. It opens with Feel, which is in my opinion also the best song. It's a rather 'heavy' up-tempo track with a nice guitar solo played by Peter Nylander. The next track Desire contains hooks and riffs and lots of vocals; the third tune Cold War is a rather humdrum, poplike song. Into The Flames sounds like a pop song by U2 and is therefore redundant. The other four songs are revisited and remixed versions of old pieces. The question is: does the band have already lack of inspiration to write new songs? I don't know, but Tea and In Time are both boring acoustic tracks during which it's hard to stay awake! Precious is a rather folky piece and Your Misery is the only decent song of the latter four. All in all I think V is a rather disappointing album.

*+ Martien Koolen (edited by Peter Willemsen)

Where to buy?

All Rights Reserved Background Magazine 2013